Faculty Profile

Phillip J Ansell

Aerospace Engineering
Phillip J Ansell
Phillip J Ansell
Assistant Professor
302A Talbot Laboratory MC 236
104 S. Wright
Urbana Illinois 61801
(217) 300-0949

Primary Research Area

  • Applied Aerodynamics


  • BS, The Pennsylvania State University, Aerospace Engineering, 2008
  • MS, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Aerospace Engineering, 2010
  • Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Aerospace Engineering, 2013

Academic Positions

  • Assistant Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Jan. 2015-present

For more information

Resident Instruction

  • AE 598 UA (Unsteady Aerodynamics)
  • AE 515 (Wing Theory)
  • AE 419 (Aircraft Flight Mechanics)
  • AE 416 (Applied Aerodynamics)
  • AE 311 (Incompressible Flow)

Research Interests

  • Applied aerodynamics, flow control, aircraft propulsion electrification, atmospheric flight sciences, unsteady aerodynamics

Research Areas

Selected Articles in Journals


  • Ansell, P.J., Hristov, G., Zimmerman, J.W., and Carroll, D.L., "Cyclotronic Plasma Actuator with Arc-Magnet for Active Flow Control," United States Patent, Serial No. 15/923271.
  • Kerho, M.F., Bragg, M.B., Ansell, P.J., ￿Detector Function and System for Predicting Airfoil Stall from Hinge Moment Measurements,￿ Unites States Patent, US 2013/0345910 A1.

Professional Societies

  • Sigma Gamma Tau (National Aerospace Engineering Honor Society), Member
  • APS, Member
  • AIAA Forums Advisory Committee (2018-present)
  • AIAA Applied Aerodynamics Technical Committee, Chair of Honors and Awards Subcommittee (2017-present)
  • AIAA Applied Aerodynamics Technical Committee, Member (2015-present)
  • AIAA, Senior Member

Teaching Honors

  • List of Teachers Ranked Excellent by their Students (Fall 2012, Fall 2015, Spring 2016, Fall 2016, Spring 2017, Spring 2018 )
  • Engineering Council Outstanding Advising Award (2015)

Research Honors

  • William T. Piper General Aviation Systems Graduate Award (2013 )
  • AFOSR Young Investigator Award (2015)
  • ARO Young Investigator Award (2017)
  • Dean's Award for Excellence in Research (2019)

Other Honors

  • Mavis Future Faculty Fellowship (2011-2012)
  • Forbes 30 Under 30 (Science) (2016)