2011 Hall of Fame

The Engineering at Illinois Hall of Fame recognizes Illinois engineering alumni, and others affiliated with the College, who have significant achievements in leadership, entrepreneurship, and innovation of great impact to society. Each year the college will honor these remarkable accomplishments by inducting a class of honorees into the Engineering at Illinois Hall of Fame.

2011 Hall of Fame Inductees

Roy  J. Carver

Roy J. Carver

BS, General Engineering, 1934

Global entrepreneurial industrialist, philanthropist, and innovator; Founder of Carver Industries and Bandag Company, Inc.
Alfred Y. Cho

Alfred Y. Cho

  • BS, Electrical Engineering, 1960
  • MS, Electrical Engineering, 1961
  • PHD, Electrical Engineering, 1968
  • Doctor of Engineering Honorary Degree, 1973
"Father" of the molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) method for producing novel layered materials used in wireless and optical communications, lasers, and transistors.
William L. Everitt

William L. Everitt

Doctor of Science Honorary Degree, 1969

International educational leader known for innovative technical contributions to communciations systems; Engineering Dean who guided the Illinois engineering program to national prominence.
Robert  H. Liebeck

Robert H. Liebeck

  • BS, Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering, 1961
  • MS, Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering, 1962
  • PHD, Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering, 1968
World-renowned leader in aerodynamics, hydrodynamics, and aircraft design.
Joan L. Mitchell

Joan L. Mitchell

  • MS, Physics, 1971
  • PHD, Physics, 1974
Leading developer of image compression methods; coinventor of jpeg.
Nathan M. Newmark

Nathan M. Newmark

  • MS, Civil Engineering, 1932
  • PHD, Civil Engineering, 1934
  • Doctor of Science Honorary Degree, 1978
Worldwide leader in understanding structural engineering with significant global contributions to geotechnical and earthquake engineering.
Raymond E. Ozzie

Raymond E. Ozzie

BS, Computer Science, 1979

Software visionary and entrepreneur who influenced communications and productivity in business; Chief Software Architect of Microsoft; Founder of Groove Networks; Creator of Lotus Notes.
Henry C. Pao

Henry C. Pao

  • BS, Electrical Engineering, 1959
  • MS, Electrical Engineering, 1960
  • PHD, Electrical Engineering, 1966
International leader in entrepreneurial applications of high-voltage integrated circuits for medical ultrasound, flat panel displays, and LED Lighting; Cofounder, President, and CEO of Supertex, Inc.
Alexander  Rankin

Alexander Rankin

BS, Mechanical Engineering, 1957

Entrepreneurial leader; Founder and Chairman of Vulcan Spring & Manufacturing Co.
Chihtang  Sah

Chihtang Sah

  • BS, Electrical Engineering, 1953
  • BS, Engineering Physics, 1953
For pioneering contributions to solid-state electronics in MOS and biopolar technologies.
Rosalyn S. Yalow

Rosalyn S. Yalow

  • MS, Physics, 1942
  • PHD, Physics, 1945
  • Doctor of Science Honorary Degree, 1974
Pioneer in the discovery and development of radioimmunoassay, a revolutionary technique enabling major advances in endocrinology. Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 1977.