Five Illinois Engineering Faculty Named IEEE Fellows

Mike Koon, Marketing and Communications Coordinator

Five College of Engineering faculty have been selected as fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). 

Only a small number of IEEE members are selected as fellows, recognizing extraordinary contributions in any of the organization’s fields of interest. IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional society and publishes 30 percent of the world’s literature in electrical and electronics engineering and computer science.

Those Illinois engineering faculty honored are:

Andrew Alleyne, Ralph & Catherine Fisher Professor of Mechanical Science and Engineering, “for contributions to the control of thermal management systems.”

Marco Caccamo, professor of computer science, “for contributions to the theory and applications of hard real-time multicore computing.”

Naira Hovakimyan, W. Grafton and Lillian B. Wilkins Professor of Mechanical Science and Engineering, “for contributions to control with applications to aerospace and robotic systems.”

Olgica Milenkovic, professor of mechanical science and engineering, “for contributions to genomic data compression.”

Tao Xie, professor of computer science and Faculty Scholar, “for contributions to software testing and analytics.”